Dialogue Research

I have been researching how to write dialogue and also the best way to use it. In my past half – finished novels I am starting to believe that I have used too much of it. I have read many blogs and articles by screenwriters such as John August and various authors led me to believe this.

First off what is dialogue? To sum it up, it is a tool used to set up a scene or mood, reveal information about characters and advance the plot.

There was a quote I read that really stuck out.

“Dialogue is life with the dull parts taken out,” Alfred Hitchcock.

Wow, when I really sit back and think of my past dialogue, it is too lengthy with much irrelevant information included. I found out today this not needed.

Below are a list of things to consider when writing dialogue that I have gathered thru my recent research:

  • Purchase “Reading Like a Writer” by Fraces Prose
  • Listen, Listen, Listen! Listen to real peoples conversations to see interaction
  • Practice by writing a conflict between characters complete with feeling and reactions (Timothy Sexton, Associated Content)
  • Ask a few people an opinionated question and write down their responses include their mannerisms, expressions and tone of their voice. (Timothy Sexton, Associated Content)
  • Check out at this site as well http://www.absolutewrite.com/novels/cheatham02-23-05.htm

I will be working on my dialogue especially this week.

My game plan is to learn as much as possible before NaNoWriMo starts to give me as much as foundataion as possible.

Also I am thinking of changing my loosely based love story into a new creation using my and other real life experiences. That is what is essentially done anyway in fiction. The situations have to come from somewhere. I read somewhere that just becaus e something is true or “really happened” doesn’t make it interesting or story worthy.

~ by hollywood757 on October 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
